January 29, 2007

Hi all,

It has come to our attention that one of our finalist manuscripts was accepted for publication elsewhere while under our consideration. Needless to say, we are highly disappointed in this development. The author has been contacted and has admitted her neglect, but we just wanted to publish a short statement here in case anyone becomes aware of this situation through other means. Once we had decided on the finalists, we did research online to make sure that none of our finalists had already published a book-length project, but we didn't contact the finalists personally because our judge had not yet decided on the winner, and we didn't want to risk any outside influences on her decision.


Brandi Homan,

January 29, 2007

Clay Matthews has agreed to read with us at AWP, and we are thrilled!

January 26, 2007

We're thrilled to announce that Advisory Board member Patty Seyburn will be judging the contest for the next Gatewood Prize (deadline: October 7, 2007). See complete guidelines here.

And, because of some fierce and dedicated skirting of the status quo around here, we have several promotions to announce within our own ranks. Kristin Aardsma now wears a sash that reads "Editor," and Daniela Olszewska and LaRaie Zimm sport matching "Editorial Assistant" fanny packs.

We'd also like to welcome Yvette Thomas and Jennifer Steele, our fabulous new interns.

Thanks to Patty, Kristin, Daniela, LaRaie, Yvette, and Jennifer for all of their support.

Hope to see you at the Clipper on Valentine's Day for the ultimate launch party and love fest!

January 18, 2007

And the winner is...

Caroline Noble Whitbeck, for her manuscript, Our Classical Heritage: A Homing Device.

Congratulations to Caroline and the rest of our finalists, listed here in no particular order:

Allison Titus, Barter, Fasten
Lisa Furmanski, Famish
Lesley Jenike, Ghost of Fashion
Julie Choffel, Massacre of the Perfection of Snails
Kristy Odelius, Strange Trades
Julie Doxsee, Undersleep
Eileen G'Sell, Gently Now, The Revolutions
Melanie Jordan, The Broken Zoo
Julie Doxsee, Of Unsuspended Suns

Thanks so much to all of our contest entrants! We were thrilled with the variety and overall quality of the manuscripts we received. It was a very difficult decision.

Thanks again and all best,

The Switchback Books Editors

January 9, 2007

Switchback Books presents “FROCK YOU: Poetry by Switchback and Friends,” an off-site poetry reading during the annual AWP conference in 2007. The event will take place Friday, March 2nd, at 8:00 pm at Django Lounge and Restaurant in Atlanta. Please join us in what is known as Django’s “Belly” for some poetry and general merry-making!

Current participating poets include: 

Amanda Auchter
Becca Klaver
Brandi Homan
Clay Matthews
Hanna Andrews
Jackie White
Jason Bredle
Jeannine Hall Gailey
Jen Tynes
Kristin Aardsma
Kristy Bowen
Kristy Odelius
Mary Biddinger
Michael Robins
Simone Muench
Teresa Miller
Tony Trigilio
William Allegrezza
Yvette Thomas

Live music will immediately follow the reading. To stay updated on participating poets, or for more information, please visit switchbackbooks.com or djangoatlanta.com.

Hope to see you there!

Please reload

Search By Tags

© 2017 Switchback Books

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon