Switchback Books

2008 Gatewood Prize Winner: Marisa Crawford

Judge Denise Duhamel has selected Marisa Crawford's manuscript The Haunted House as the 2009 winner of The Gatewood Prize.

Congratulations, Marisa!

The other finalists were, in no particular order:

  • Bad Town, Olivia Cronk
  • Alchemy & Other Misfires, Brianna Colburn
  • & Waited, Kristin Hatch
  • Perpetua Takes a Backseat, Catherine Cafferty
  • Wheel to Wing, Steffi Drewes
  • Face & Act, Rosa Alcala
  • Whale in the Woods, Blueberry Morningsnow
  • The Broken Zoo, Melanie Jordan
  • Darling Beastlettes, Gina Abelkop

  • Congratulations to ALL our finalists, and thanks to everyone who submitted. You all make the contest process very difficult, and we are proud to have had such fine work to consider!